DIY Tutorial: Child’s Pajama Pants

IMG_20130913_171225

Hi Everyone,

I am super excited to be bringing you a new short series of ‘Handmade Christmas Gifts’. These are gifts I am making to for my family & friends, so I thought I’d share along and hopefully inspire you to make a few handmade gift items this year.

The first in my Christmas Projects will be a spin off on the DIY tutorial I made for the Child’s Pajama Shorts https://juggling5monkeys.wordpress.com/2013/08/22/diy-tutorial-childs-pajama-shorts/ and the shorts tutorial has more detailed instructions. This tutorial for ‘Child’s Flannel Pajama Pants’ will just have the basic instructions, so please refer to the other link if you need more details. While I am a big reuse, recycle type, I noticed that used boys clothes for sizes 3-10 are pretty hard to come by in good condition. I have had to buy or make more new items this year. When I do come across nice used or on sale items in the size I need or will need, I scoop them up. For instance I was doing back to school shopping for my five year old and had to pay top dollar for new sweat shirts and hoodies (Yikes, expensive) since we are going into Fall, however I also picked up some end-of-summer-sale Tees that were going for just a couple bucks for next year since I know I don’t have any in the grow into pile that will fit him next year.

Cost & Items Needed for this Project:

$3.49: 1 yard of flannel (on sale from $6.99 at Joann’s) This was the amount needed for a size 6 pair of pants for my five year old, my 2 year old’s size 3 only took 2/3 of a yard, while my older boys needed a full 2 yards due to the width of the cloth. The prices for the fabric per pair of pants ranged from just $2.33- $4.00. I chose from fabrics that were on sale or on the bargain table, but good quality. Boy prints were slim pickings on the bargain table, but I managed to find a couple prints I was happy with.

Free: Thread (already had this)

.50: Elastic I bought this by the yard from a roll from Joann’s

Free: Sewing machine (I had this already and it sure makes the project fly by)

Total Cost of Project: $4.00 LOVE it!

IMG_20130913_170608

Step 1: First make your pattern on a piece of paper. I just made a one sided one and placed it on the folded material and cut. Then when you open the fabric it looks like this. However, if you aren’t so confident, go ahead and make the entire pattern using a piece of paper. To make the pattern, use an actual pattern or a pair of pants or shorts, enlarging or shrinking it as necessary. Don’t forget to add seam allowance and large seam allowance for the hem around the legs and the waist.

IMG_20130913_170646

Step 2: Fold over along the bottom of each pant leg to hem them.

IMG_20130913_170714

Step 3: Go ahead and sew the hem now.

IMG_20130913_170744

Step 3: With both pant legs stacked on top of each other with the print side facing each other on the inside of the stack, sew the middle curved area together. Make one seam on one side and again on the other side. Pictured above is one seam and there is another identical one on the other side. At this point your pants look like picture step 1, except with the outsides facing each other on the insides and stacked up. Make sense?

IMG_20130913_170820

Step 4: It’s difficult to see in the picture, but I made a double seam (sew twice) on the middle curved area and up the leg seams for double strength. The last thing I want is to have repair some thing when I could be creating some thing new!  Boys are pretty hard on clothes, so extra precautions can be taken. You can even make patches on the knee area right away, if you think you will be able to use the pants for a couple years.  If you do chose to add fabric patches, they will be much easier to add BEFORE you sew the leg seams shut, and have less room to get the leg in the machine. If you are using an iron on, no worries, add it whenever you like.

IMG_20130913_170934

Step 5: Next, line up your pants with the middle seam in the center and the legs lined up. The picture illustrates the lined up pants and the hem for the elastic at the waist.

IMG_20130913_170908

Step 6: Now work on the hem for the elastic waist. Make the hem just as you did with the hem on the pant legs, just make it a little wider so you can fit an elastic in there. Leave a small gap in the seam (see picture) to thread the elastic through. I like to leave this gap open, in case you need to replace the worn elastic eventually or re size the elastic for a growing child.

IMG_20130913_171022

Step 7: If you are adding fabric patches to the knees, add then now.The last seam to sew are the legs. Go ahead and double sew the seam on each pant leg.

IMG_20130913_171051

Step 8: Place a pin on one end of your elastic and thread it through your waist seam, returning to the same hole after threading in a loop.

IMG_20130913_171123

Here is what your pants should look like.

IMG_20130913_220448

I had a little fabric left over and made ‘Beary’ a matching pair of pj’s too, using the same steps. I used a pair of pants that were bought for the bear as a pattern. These comfy pants are great to make for a sleepover party or in a valentine’s print. They would also work great as a get well, retirement or maternity/new mommy gift for a grown up. Have fun making this project for the loved ones in your life.

Leave a Reply

