40 Day Green Juice Challenge

IMG_20130410_123216

Hello there Lovely People,

A couple of weeks ago a post popped up in my email box from Allison at Mamasweeds blog announcing her husband taking part in a “Biggest Loser” challenge that his company is doing http://mamasweeds.com/2013/05/07/zaks-juice-fast-update-two-weeks-in/. She also reminded me of the documentary, “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead” by Joe Cross. The film is about this man’s journey to lose weight, change his lifestyle and to get off of medication. You can read more about Joe Cross on his website: http://www.fatsickandnearlydead.com/ And right now you can view the “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead” documentary for free on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gpLQwWKb3l8

I had watched this documentary a year or two ago and greatly enjoyed it. Hubbs got me a juicer, I visited a local organic farm to buy day old organic produce at 50% off and began my foray into the land of green juice. It’s been an interesting ride! Green juice takes getting use to, no question about that. I’ve tried some pretty awful tasting concoctions. I have also tried some pretty great ones as well. There comes a time where you find yourself actually enjoying your cold green juice.

Tip: Start with very mild tasting greens and veggies. Say spinach and cucumber, add an apple and a squeeze of lemon. Anyone can handle this mix first time around. Set yourself up for success and don’t get freaked out when you try a nasty combo. Make a note to self and try again.

All this to say is, I am going to begin my own 40 Day Green Juice Challenge! It will run from May 12-June 20, 2013. I will spare everyone the daily updates and rather do a short summary of: 1. Juice consumed 2. Water/herbal tea (no sweetener) 3. Exercise (time and activity) 4. Weight (gain/loss) on Sundays until the Challenge is complete. I will also let you know the cost of juice items.

I won’t get into all the great reasons to juice, exercise, lose weight for health during this 40 Day Green Juice Challenge. However with just a couple clicks of your mouse you will very easily find some excellent information on the web. I will leave you with a couple juice and smoothie combos to get your feet wet with.

IMG_20130411_103046

Recipe Idea: Orange & Carrot juice with frozen mango smoothie. Keep a stash of these babies in plastic Ball jars in the freezer for a quick on the go snack.

IMG_20130415_172440

Recipe Idea: Spinach Banana Mango Blueberry Smoothie. Garnish with fresh or frozen blueberries.

IMG_20130430_181359

Recipe Idea: Organic Beet & Orange Juice. Make friends with a local organic farmer to get some awesome fresh produce.

IMG_20130422_180648

Recipe Idea: Green Juice with Banana, Yogurt & half an Avocado. It’s a meal to go!

IMG_20130501_174756

Recipe Idea: Yogurt, Raw Hemp Seeds, Pineapple & Banana Smoothie. Look out for more and more stores carrying healthy and organic options! I found the raw hemp seeds at Costco peeps. Uh-maz-ing!

Hope this post inspires you to take a baby step towards becoming just a little bit healthier this year. I have been watching the Biggest Loser on Hulu for inspiration. Are you doing something awesome for your health? Do tell!

Disclaimer: I am no dietician or health guru. So please check with your doctor, etc. before taking part in a juice fast.

9 thoughts on “40 Day Green Juice Challenge

  1. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly helpful & it helped me out a lot. I am hoping to present something back and aid others such as you aided me.

  2. I’m really inspired together with your writing abilities as neatly as with the format to your blog. Is that this a paid theme or did you customize it your self? Either way keep up the nice high quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this
    one these days..

Leave a Reply

